A headbanger's blog!

Weekly Rare Track: Prowler – “Sudden Death”

*I do not own the rights to this song. All writing, performance, production, and publishing credits are that of their respective owners.*

New York Thrashers Prowler were one of those many one EP, indie label bands from the mid-late 80s scene. Pure Thrash and Speed Metal with very basic production, it’s easy to see why this New Renaissance records act never moved any further up the music industry food chain. Never the less, if you’re a Thrash fan looking for a really fun, cool short record to listen to, seek this out. You won’t be dissappointed.

Releases:

Prowling Death Squad (Single) – 1986 Trusha Records
Skullcracker (Demo) – 1987 Self-released
Prowling Death Squad (EP) – 1988 New Renaissance

For fans of: Whiplash, Exodus, Vio-lence, Dark Angel

11 responses

  1. Josh Brock

    Excellent recommendation Matt. Much Apprecitated

    10/06/2011 at 3:17 pm

  2. Mike

    Matt, I happened to have written that song and appreciate the BLOG. My name is Mike Mano, guitar player for Prowler all those years ago. I live in New Jersey and I am currently working on a record with the Bass player from Prowler, Ronnie Lipniki from Overkill and Scott LePage from Hades. The record should be done by November of 2011. There will be a remake of Thrash & Bang on it from the Prowling Death Squad release. It is a some real good Thrash/Speed Metal and Ronnie is going to take it over the top!
    The band is Misistry of Hate and the record will be When All Your Gods Are Dead. Thanks for the props!

    16/06/2011 at 7:10 am

  3. I love PROWLER, the EP is great. Thanks for posting this. I wish someone would put it on CD. Mike, that is great about the new band… I am a huge HADES fan too. Ron actually is the fill in drummer for my band. Here’s a shot of him in action with us: http://amishoutlaws.fotki.com/chevys-cinco-de-may/chevys-cino-de-mayo/869240050-ckgjf-xl-1.html

    Any chance you have the Skull Cracker demo on disc or mp3? I never got to hear it. Can’t wait to hear the new band!

    17/06/2011 at 4:00 pm

    • Mike

      Ezekiel, That shot of Ronnie is a Pisser! Unfortunately I don’t have a digitized copy of the PDS album. It came out when CD’s were in infancy. Every bootleg I hear is sped for some reason. I do have Skull Cracker. That was a pre-production for the second release on New Rennaiassance. We never made it because the band broke up before we were able to go in the studio. There are no leads and it is all live in the studio. I can post Skull Cracker on Media Fire. I have your Amish Outlaws address in my Outlook. I will send a link when I get it done. I will also notify you when MOH has some completed material in September. Thanks to all!

      18/06/2011 at 7:59 am

      • I would also love to hear the Skull Cracker demo if that’s okay mike. Cheers!

        18/06/2011 at 9:09 am

  4. Man, can’t wait to hear the demo. It’s cool as hell that you are posting it! I have PDS on MP3 if you need it. Thanks!!!!

    20/06/2011 at 11:26 am

  5. AWESOME! Thank you!! Grabbing them all now. Was there ever a cover for the demo?

    23/06/2011 at 3:12 pm

  6. Mike Cusumano

    Matt, i tried to email about the record i was doing with ron from overkill. It is done and i would love to send a copy. It releases in a couple weeks. Let me know. Thanks.
    Mike

    01/05/2012 at 11:26 am

    • Hey Mike, I just e-mailed you from my new e-mail address. If you didn’t get it, let me know.

      01/05/2012 at 2:51 pm

    • Please let me know when it’s available to the public, I’d love to pick up a copy! And tell Ron Ezekiel says hi!

      01/05/2012 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

